Trash is My Kryptonite

And I mean that in the coolest way possible.

A few weeks ago, I was driving through the neighborhood next to mine when my eye was caught by a stubby leg sticking out of a trash heap. It was a plant stand. I snagged it, thinking to use the spindles for some other project. Upon inspection, it only needed a few new screws and some wood filler to make it sturdy again.

WIN_20160217_143007

I love the spindles. They give it such character. I was tempted to use a simple whitewash and distress it, but decided to use chalk paint in a light turquoise color, because I want it to stand out. I have to admit, most of the pieces I flip I redo as statement pieces (the red and gold accent table comes to mind), because they are small. If this had been a shelf unit of a dresser, I would have whitewashed and distressed to make it blend into the background.

This was an easy flip. After sanding and cleaning, I applied three coats of ASCP™ in Provençe, then a coat of clear wax, buffed to a shine. Once the wax was dry, about a day or so, I applied a silver glaze by Martha Stewart called Mercury (which I am aggrieved that is no longer available) to both upper and lower stand edges and the legs.

WIN_20160222_103743

Isn’t she pretty?? The sheen on the spindles is from the buffed wax, but the edge is shiny from the glaze.

WIN_20160222_103649

I do love how the silvery glaze gives the curved edge dimension. And now you have proof that trash is treasure. You just have to give it a shine.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

What do you think?

