A Table to Flip

But not in anger, I assure you. I have really, REALLY enjoyed using chalk paint lately. So much so that every single frame in the house is looking like a viable candidate for a makeover. Instead, I decided to try my hand at furniture, as you saw from the previous blog post. This time I went in a different direction, using vibrant color and glaze to update a decrepit old Florentine table that had seen better days, way back in the 50’s most likely.

WIN_20160110_130751

I found her at a thrift shop for about $20, and just had to have her. Her lines were perfect. The gilt was flaking off and it had several scrapes and scratches, but nothing that sanding wouldn’t repair.

WIN_20160110_130812

Those legs are soooooo sexy, no? But as much as I liked the flaky gilt, it had to go. The restoration would have been fruitless considering the damage:

WIN_20160110_130724

A friend has a liking for the Far East, so I thought this would make a nice addition for his man cave. Sure, the table screams GIRL!!! but the right color and treatment will make it scream EMPRESS.

WIN_20160121_121243

When I first started, using the ASCP in Emperor’s Silk, it was vivid. I mean VIVID. Honestly, it reminded me of something in a bordello. Not that I would know, but I have heard stories. I applied three coats of the paint, and then applied a coat of clear wax, making sure to buff to a shine.

WIN_20160121_121314

Hard to see, but the wax gives it the look of a soft lacquer. The next step was to use a metallic glaze on the lip of the table, to bring attention to the curves. Working with the glaze you have to be quick, because it tends to dry fast, and a dry brush technique works better to hide the strokes. Finally, I applied a coat of dark umber wax, and buffed to a shine again, toning down the red enough to be more imperial.

WIN_20160121_121343

My confidence in tackling bigger pieces has grown a bit. The next one on the flip queue is an old gossip bench. Once the weather clears up, it will get primed and painted and reupholstered.

No clue what to do with it, though! Thanks for stopping by šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “A Table to Flip

  1. xbradtc says:

    She’s got legs…!

  2. Looks amazing šŸ™‚

    Love gossip benches – can’t wait to see what you do with it!

What do you think?

