From Vase to “Vahse”

I have never understood the different pronunciations for the word “vase”. My dad told me once that it depended on the vase’s value. That may be fake, but it’s accurate! Anyway, I remember seeing this simple tutorial from Two Twenty One for a painted vase, and dug around my stash of thrift store glassware for some small vases I remembered snagging for a nickle a piece. I found my gold spray paint, newspaper, and paint tape and got to work.

First, you need to clean your vase thoroughly, and then wipe down with alcohol (isopropyl, not bourbon). Next, take a strip of painter’s tape and adhere around the vase, making sure to keep it even and seal the edge that will be against the paint. Now take another strip of tape, and tape the newspaper around the vase right on the first strip, careful not to cover the bottom edge of the first strip. Tuck the paper into the vase to make sure you don’t spray paint in it. Careful do a second wiping of the exposed glass, let it dry, and then spray in short even bursts. One coat is usually enough, but two will even out the coverage. After drying, remove the tape strips and VOILÁ!!!

WIN_20150825_172209

How cute are they?? I just love how they turned out, and like grouping them together. I have no idea what I’m going to do with them, but I can see placing a pretty bloom in each one and clustering them on a dresser or a vanity. I also took the opportunity to paint two “Pro-Flowers” vases I had collecting dust in the garage. I plan on using them to flank a future project for the fireplace area.

WIN_20150825_172422

All I did was clean out the inside of each vase and wipe down with alcohol, then sprayed Looking Glass spray paint from Krylon™ on the inside. Unlike the gold paint, the looking glass paint needs several coats to cover well, and you have to do short, light bursts. Otherwise the paint will streak and run. These took five coats each to finish. If my tutorial is a little confusing, hit the link above and Chelsea will walk you through it. Check out her blog for other DIYs, too.

Thanks for stopping by!! 🙂

One thought on “From Vase to “Vahse”

  1. […] was the big project yesterday, but I had other smaller ones I managed to do as well. I ended up painting vases and turning them into vahses. Yeah, I don’t get why there’s two different […]

What do you think?

