A New Take on an Old Thing

I’s still making lots of velvet flowers and still have no place to put them. I have enough to fill a foam wreath, and I may do that, too. But while perusing Pintercrack, I found the coolest floral centerpiece on Weddingomania:

black goblets with white roses

And it brought to mind some silver-plated goblets that my parents gave me when they were downsizing. None of my sisters wanted them, and I really didn’t want them to end up in a garage sale. But they are not safe for wine, which in my opinion detracts from ownership. Anyway, who says they have to be for drinking anything, right??

You’ll need:

  • Any goblet or wineglass, glass or metal
  • Rubbing alcohol and paper towels
  • Spray paint in oil rubbed bronze
  • Styrofoam ball the same size or a little bigger in circumference than the rim of the glass
  • Glue gun or glue of choice
  • Silk or fabric flowers of choice

First, wash the glass in soapy water, and then rub it down with alcohol to remove all the residue. In a well-ventilated area, paint the glass making sure to spray in light layers so as to prevent drips. If you have a metal goblet, you can use primer before spraying the paint. It’s not necessary, but a good precaution. Let the item dry well between coats, and spray until you achieve the depth of color you wish.

Second, take the styrofoam ball and glue it to the lip of the glass. If it’s too big, trim it a bit if you wish. Since my goblet was metal, I pushed it into the ball to mark where to put the glue. If yours is glass, just use a marker to draw a circle around the ball using the rim. Run a thin line of glue around the mark and glue to the rim. Once the glue is dry, begin to attach the flowers close together. You can use glue or even pins if you want to change the flowers out for some in another color later.

And voici les beaux!!

goblet centerpiece

I had some silk ranunculus flowers getting dusty in the storage closet, and though I am not a fan of orange, I think the color plays off nicely against the oil rubbed bronze. And I am sure they will look fabulous in my mom’s house 😀

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

4 thoughts on “A New Take on an Old Thing

  1. What do you mean “making velvet flowers”? Do you have a link or have you blogged about it?

What do you think?

