Wrapped and Blinged

I am hosting a Halloween-themed wine party this weekend, and I wanted to make something special for a party favor for the guests to take home. I was at the dollar store, getting a vase for the previous project, and as I walked down the aisle, I saw purple tinted wineglasses. That tickled my fancy, because purple has become a very popular color for Halloween. When I was a young kid, the only colors for Halloween were orange and black. Nowadays, even glitter is used in Halloween decor. But purple is also a good color for divas, so I decided to buy the glasses and bling them up in Halloween colors.

wineglass craft supplies

What you’ll need:

  • Wineglasses of your choice.
  • Beads.
  • 12-gauge jewelry wire.
  • Wirecutters and needle-nosed pliers.

Wash and dry your glasses and set them aside. Using the pliers, curl one end of the wire to make a closed loop.

curling the wire end

Next, you will take the wire and begin to wrap it around the stem of the wineglass, keeping the formed loop snug at the base of the stem. You can choose to glue the loop down, but I like the clean look of just the wire.

wrapping the wire on stem

Now you will cut the wire about two inches from the top of the stem, and curl a loop inward halfway. Once you form the “hook”, add a dangling bead of your choice, then finish closing the loop completely.

adding the bead

You can use non-dangling beads if you wish. I just like the dangling bling. Once you close the loop, form tight against the wineglass, and you are done.

finished wineglass

Purple, orange, and black bling fit for a Halloween Diva! I looked for a do-it-yourself post to make these, but couldn’t find any except Etsy listings. The total cost for the project was $17, or $1.70 per glass. Considering plastic Halloween wineglasses are about $5, I think I did pretty well. It was an easy craft to do, and I already envision making these for future gift-giving. You sure can’t beat the price!

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

2 thoughts on “Wrapped and Blinged

  1. Nicole says:

    I missed this somehow! Very, very spiffy!

What do you think?

