Apothecaries For the Bath

I know, I know… I haven’t posted anything in a while. That’s not to say I haven’t been busy, though. Kids’ school and extracurricular activities, as well as family get-togethers all have conspired to keep me from posting. Well, from posting a craft or three here. But not to worry. I finally have some time to ruin my nails, glue my fingers, get paint in my hair get crafty again.

One thing that drives me absolutely bonkers is the kids asking me where such-and-such is, specifically something in their OWN bathroom that they can’t seem to find because of all the assorted crap they have stored under the sink. After the third time in week of being asked where the cotton swabs were, I went and gutted the storage under the sink, to find not one, not two, but THREE packages of cotton swabs. Needless to say, I was not happy. I decided then and there to get some bath jars at the store for cotton swabs, cotton balls, and sundry stuff that they needed regularly. I found some that I really liked, but they were rather pricey considering they were designed to hold such humble things. So I got the idea to make my own from my junk stash.

apothecary diy1

What you’ll need:

  • Lidded candle jars
  • E-6000™ glue
  • Wood dowel endcaps (found in the woodworking section of Hobby Lobby™ or Michaels™)
  • Alcohol and paper towels (not pictured)
  • Choice of spray paint and primer (not pictured)
  • Cheap candlestick (optional)

Wash and dry the jars and lids. Next, pour some alcohol on a paper towel and wipe down the lids well to remove all residue. After the lids are dry, take a wooden endcap and apply the glue to the bottom sparingly. Then glue the endcap to the lid. If you wish to use the candlestick, use the glue to adhere it to the base of your chosen jar as well, so the drying time is the same.

apothecary diy2

Allow the glue to dry for 24 hours. After drying, spray with primer. I used Rustoleum for outside use, since the lids are metal, and they will be used in a rather humid environment. As a tip, take a spare bit of wood and push some push pins into it, then place the lid on the push pins so that you have spray around it evenly. Like featured here, but use the push pins to hold up the lid. After the primer has dried, then it’s time to paint with your choice of color. Using neutrals is always safe, but you can also use paint to match the decor. And if y’all know m by now, I love, love, LOVE using Rustoleum’s Oil Rubbed Bronze! Here are my finished apothecaries!

apothecary diy3

Full disclosure: I kept these for my bathroom, and made another set for the kids’ bath using Rustoleum’s Metallic Finish in gold. It matches the decor much better than ORB does. At least, that’s what I told myself. Also, the jar I used was a Party Lite™ candle jar instead of a Yankee Candle™ one, but the circumference of the opening was the same, so I was able to use the lid. That may or may not have been another reason I kept them. Maybe!

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

What do you think?

