Cloche Tableau

Seriously, I think this was the easiest craft I have ever made.

cloches

I went thrifting, as I usually do most Thursdays, and found some old books for fifty cents each and an old cheese dome for three dollars. I found a bell jar on clearance at a boutique for five dollars, and a glittery skull and black plate at the dollar store for a buck each. The only thing I had to do was spray paint the cheese plate in Oil Rubbed Bronze, after cleaning and sanding it, of course. That houses an old clockface, a broken china doll, and a dead rose. I had already made the apothecary jar from a Yankee Candle™ ginger jar, a dollar store candle stick, and a drawer knob, and filled it with some dead roses I kept from the last time Hubby sent me flowers, along with some cheap keys from the Michaels™ dollar bin. The bell jar I placed over a silver candy dish that my mom was going to throw out because the base was broken off. I repaired it, and now it houses my little owl Clarence and a mini pumpkin. The dollar plate I place on top of a cupcake stand I made a while back, and it houses the glittery skull nestled on cheesecloth. Random dropper bottles complete the tableau.

owl cloche

Here is a close-up of Clarence. Sorry for the bad photo, but I have yet to get a new camera.

If you have bell jars or cloches or even plain votive and candle holders, you can make cool Halloween table decor. Everything looks glamorous and worthy under glass. And don’t be restricted by holidays, either. Do it for every day, with found objects like your old graduation tassel, or baby cup, or wedding favors. It’s a nice way to personalize your home.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

4 thoughts on “Cloche Tableau

  1. Nicole says:

    I’ll expect you on Friday night then to decorate for my tea party on Saturday? 🙂 Seriously, that is a fantastic Halloween set up. I’m not even sure where there is a thrift store around here that isn’t clothes and old Tupperware.

  2. Nicole says:

    Cake dome, yes. Skull… cats broke it knocking it off the shelf. Dead flowers… that would indicate that I ever receive live flowers. 🙂 I’m sure I will manage, just not as stylishly as I might otherwise. I may see if I can find worthy thrift shops next week.

What do you think?

