Halloween Glamour

I am not much for decorating for Halloween. Sure, I dress up, and give out tons of candy. But I prefer to decorate for fall instead of Halloween. This year I wanted to make something more glamourous for the front door. I still have the same old tired grapevine wreath I made when I lived in North Carolina. Back in 2000. Don’t judge me too harshly. That wreath has been a trooper through several moves across the world. But it needs a rest, so I went to Michael’s to check out their holiday flowers and ribbon. I figured a 40% coupon would take me far. Anyway, nothing stood out to me until I got to the Homecoming section and I saw it. The perfect wreath adornment: FEATHER BOAS. Unfortunately, all they had was garish pink, purple, white with black accents, black with tinsel, bordello red (I’m not joking here), electric blue, and a green and yellow combination. Nothing that just shouted AUTUMN. But then I took a close look at the black, and the white. And the kernel of an idea sprouted. I’ll make a glamourous Halloween wreath instead!

wreath supplies

You will need:

  • Foam wreath form, at least 12″ diameter.
  • Several boas, at least 6 ft. each (I used two black and one white).
  • Fake bird, such as an owl, crow, or vulture.
  • Ribbon.
  • Headed pins.

Continue reading