Autumn Means Pumpkins

I love pumpkins. They just exude happiness to me. Sure, some people look at them and think food, but not me. Unless it’s pumpkin pie. But decorating with pumpkins can be expensive. That’s why I tend to make my own decor. For example, I saw this gorgeous urn at Common Ground, but she lost me at “Pottery Barn”.

Courtesy of Common Ground

Courtesy of Common Ground

Beautiful, isn’t it? She used real bittersweet, which is cost prohibitive, especially down here in Texas. But I was in love with the effect, so I went looking for junk at the thrift store. Yes, I love that place and they know me by name. And wouldn’t you know it, they came through for me. I found a small urn for $2, and a plastic pumpkin for fifty cents. Yay me!

plain urn

The lighting doesn’t do the crappy color justice. It was a very peachy color, bordering on a light tangerine. It just wouldn’t do. So, I got out my trusty spray paint. I wanted a dark patina on it, so I used Rustoleum’s Oil Rubbed Bronze. It has the most beautiful sheen. The pumpkin was a nice shade of… every fall color, since it was going for a realistic look. But I wanted a more stark contrast with the urn, so I primed it and then painted it a nice winter white.

half painted pumpkin

See what I mean? Those colors were very dated. I figured going neutral would look nicer than having to try to match up everything when I finally have them on display at the table.

urn and pumpkin

See how pretty they look now?? I love, LOVE the ORB paint. I may have to stock several cans from now on. Now I had a bit of a quandary. I do like the leaves and bittersweet sticking out and being pokey around the pumpkin, but since this is going on my kitchen table, I wanted something that wouldn’t obstruct the view when the kids are arguing we are having dinner conversation. I dug around my stash of stuff, and found some really nice moss.

moss

Normally, I would use hot glue to keep it from moving, but I have plans for the urn during the Christmas holidays, and wanted the option of removing it without fuss. I simply tucked moss into the urn and positioned it like a nest. That was it. As for the pumpkin, I wanted it to stand out a bit, so I gave it some bling!

bling

Forgive the blurry photo. It’s hard to take a pic while sticking bling on the round areas. I had some smokey colored bling that comes already curled and with adhesive, so all I had to do was cut the pieces I needed and stick them on. And voilá!!

pumpkin closeup

Gorgeous, huh? I love using the bling on it.

table set-up

Those candle holders I made from wooden candlesticks from the thrift store ($1 the set), spray painted with ORB, and then taking some repurposed Febreeze™ candle jars and gluing them on top (I love E-6000™). I think the total cost of this project was under $15, and that’s including the whole can of spray paint, which I will use again and again on several projects, the moss, which I still have a half bag left over, and the paint for the pumpkin. I love the way it turned out!

And as I was looking for the moss, I found a large urn upstairs. I bet my mom will like one for Thanksgiving!

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Autumn Means Pumpkins

  1. Clete Orris says:

    You are out of your gourd.

  2. Nicole says:

    That is very squee, ma’am. Well done!

  3. Jana Funderburg says:

    Gorgeous!

What do you think?

