Hoity Pumpkin

I love pumpkins. I have an huge menagerie of different ones for display in the fall. I love one so much, it is out on permanent display year round. I just think they exude happiness. Yes, I know that Jack-O-Lanterns are supposed to be scary, but not to me.

Anyway, I was perusing Apartment Therapy, when I saw these:

plush pumpkins

Aren’t they lovely? Pumpkins made from velvet! With REAL PUMPKIN STEMS!! Now, this blog is all about making stuff from junk, or re-purposing already owned items. And that means if I can do a cheap knock-off of a pricey item, all the better!

What you’ll need:

  • Velvet remnant, preferably 12 inches in diameter.
  • Embroidery floss.
  • Dollmaking needle, or any long needle.
  • Rice, or poly pellets.
  • Poly-fil batting.
  • Cork.
  • Jute twine.
  • Scissors.
  • Dinner plate, or other circular template.
  • Glue and hot glue gun and sticks.
  • Felt.

Using the plate or template, trace a circle onto the wrong side of the velvet, then cut the circle. You want to have a big enough circle for a nice sized pumpkin. Once you cut the circle, proceed to do a running stitch as shown here. Proceed to gather tightly, using the embroidery floss for strength on the heavy fabric.

pumpkin1

Once you have done the running stitch, loosely tie the ends together forming a bag and then using a funnel, fill the bag half full with rice of the poly pellets. This will provide some heft and stability for your little pumpkin.

pumpkin2

Finish filling the bag with poly-fil until it’s poofy but not too overfull, since you now have to stitch the opening completely closed. I pull on the ends and tie it closed, then stitch the gathers together tightly.

pumpkin3

Yes, I know the red velvet makes it look like a tomato. But work with me here! I only had the red in my stash!

Now, take twine and glue it to the cork in a winding manner.

pumpkin stem

Completely cover the cork, or whatever you choose to use as a stem, with twine. Set it aside to dry. Take the felt in whatever color or colors you choose, and cut out some leaf shapes. Hot glue them down on the gathered seam, and follow with the stem, hot gluing it to the seam, careful to not overuse glue.

And there you have your own hoity pumpkin!

pumpkin5

Not a very summery post, but it’s never too early to start thinking about fall. Thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “Hoity Pumpkin

  1. Nicole says:

    That turned out cute!

  2. […] it’s pumpkin pie. But decorating with pumpkins can be expensive. That’s why I tend to make my own decor. For example, I saw this gorgeous urn at Common Ground, but she lost me at “Pottery […]

What do you think?

