Flipping Out

I have a deep fondness for books. I love the feel of the paper and the solace I find turning a page. Usually I re-read a book about 50 times before I finally donate it or pass it on to someone.

There are some books, however, that won’t be taken in donations, or lending libraries, or that are too torn up as to make them readable. I have always hated, and I mean hated tossing out a book. It just rubs me the wrong way. I had bought several of those Harlequin Romance™ novels a while back as brain candy, and now couldn’t get rid of them to save them. Not even the thrift store wanted them. So, I took stock of my junk pile in the craft area, and found a 16×20 canvas that I didn’t need.

This is where the lightbulb went on, people. I decided to make wall art out of the books and canvas.

materials

Materials I used:

  • Six paperbacks
  • Glue gun
  • Tacky glue
  • Stapler
  • Acrylic paint (not pictured)
  • Stamps and stamp pad
  • Embellishments of your choice (optional)
  • 16×20 Canvas (not pictured)

First, measure out and arrange how you want your books to fit on the canvas. Depending on the size of canvas, you may need more books. I found six paperbacks covered the canvas well.

books arranged

Move the arranged books to the side, remembering where they go. This is where your camera phone comes in handy. Since the canvas wasn’t completely covered by the books, I chose to paint the edges in a putty color.

painted edge

It doesn’t have to be perfect. It’s ART!! Anyway, while the paint dries, you can proceed to the mind-numbing step of stapling the book pages together. I first divided the book in half, and stapled the pages in two sections, keeping one page from each half apart.

stapling pages

After stapling, you have two sections on each half of the book. Use your glue gun to adhere the sections to each other, then use the tacky glue to adhere the single pages to the rest of the sections. In this way, you have the book permanently opened to the middle, and the single pages now hide the staples. Now you can hot glue the books onto the canvas. Once that’s done, you can leave it as is, or decorate it with stamp flourishes and flowers, as I have done. I had some butterflies and a couple of flowers in my basket of random embellishments.

butterflies embellishment

flower embellishment

Now all that is left is to hang up your new masterpiece!

finished book art

It’s a bit plain, but I like the dimensional quality of the books alone. Try mixing books of different sizes, or just doing one book alone. I may do that with a random hardback laying in my garage,  which has seen much better days. In fact, I think I will do that right now, while the glue gun is still on!

Hope you enjoyed the tutorial 🙂

3 thoughts on “Flipping Out

  1. Reblogged this on Sithy Things and commented:

    Too much going on around here, so I thought I would share this from my other blog. Hope y’all have a great day!

  2. Nicole says:

    Neat idea. Now, did you leave the pages open to “interesting” parts? 🙂

What do you think?

