Bottle Bonanza

I have a very high shelf in my pantry. Usually I keep the stuff I don’t need but don’t want to toss out because I may need it later, like the fondue pot, and the chip and dip server, and the HUGE ship’s decanter that Hubby refuses to give up. I also have my antique canning jars up there. Anyway, last night I was filling up the can of spare change when I spied an empty jam jar. And then another, and then a bottle, or two, or four.

photo(7)

I discovered a junk bonanza in my very own pantry!

Anyway, the one that really doesn’t belong in that grouping is the Patron bottle. It’s a very pretty bottle, but I never knew what to do with it. I saw at my sister’s Pinterest board that someone used it for bath gel, but I prefer plastic bottles near my tub. I can just imagine a slippery bottle crashing in the tub or on the floor. Not pretty! But I think it could make a very pretty shabby chic bud vase. So I go to my stash and peruse the junk, coming up with some ribbon, burlap, and a broken hairclip.

I must have been a magpie in a former life.

Anyway, begin by cutting a strip of burlap, and cutting it to fit around the bottle, and do the same for the ribbon. You can let it overlap slightly. Then fray the edges of the burlap a bit.

photo(8)

Next, you can use your hot glue gun, or any tacky glue you prefer. I wanted to finish this quickly, so I used the glue gun. Run a thin strip of the glue, and adhere the burlap CAREFULLY. I used the silicone mat to press the burlap down into the glue.

photo(9)

You can use anything handy, like a spoon or a pen. Just be careful not to burn your fingers! Continue going around the bottle, being careful to align the burlap evenly as you go. Then glue the overlapping ends. Now do the same for the ribbon. This is easier because the ribbon is solid and the glue won’t leak through the fibers as easily.

photo(10)

Once you finish, adhere the bling of choice, in this case the broken hairclip, to the overlapping edges, covering them up.

photo(11)

It was a BIG hairclip. But it was a butterfly, and I just couldn’t part with it. What can I say? I β™₯ flutterbys. Anyway, the only thing left to do is to show it off.

photo(12)

The only “pink” room in my house is the upstairs powder room, so that’s where I put it. Isn’t it cute? And I bet this technique would work well with any oddly shaped bottle or jar you may have laying about, gathering dust.

Just don’t go out of your way to finish off the tequila πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Bottle Bonanza

  1. Nicole says:

    That turned out really cute!

What do you think?

