Repurposing an Old Paperback!

Well, apparently I still had an old paperback laying around. I thought I had gotten rid of them in the wall art, but one escaped.

book

Melodrama on the cheap.

I was going to just throw it away, but y’all know I just can’t do that. And donating it is useless, since the thrift store won’t take them. So I sat there while waiting for Hubby to get home, fanning the pages, and I got an idea!!

How to make a photo holder from a paperback!!

You’ll need:

  • Any paperback, preferably less than 200 pages.
  • Cardboard
  • Glue

First, tear off the front and back covers, along with any blank or cover pages.

cover tear

Beth has awful taste in literature.

Next, begin to fold in each page towards the middle, like this:

page folding

You see how they tuck into the spine? Continue doing this for all the pages. This is the mind numbing part with you can do while watching some awful TV. I watched some weird movie about a possessed cabin in the woods. Your mileage may vary. Now, the last page, you will fold in the opposite manner, so that you can tuck a piece of cardboard cut to fit between the folds.

board under pages

Glue the board to the spine pages, and then to the flap pages. Once done, you will get a free standing fan in which to tuck your photos, business cards, and memorabilia!!

holder2

I’m using mine to hold those scraps of paper I use for altered art, but I think placing ATCs in it would look rather cool. Thanks for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “Repurposing an Old Paperback!

  1. Nicole says:

    That’s a pretty clever idea. And I approve of the Indiana Jones Temple of Doom book use. :)

What do you think?

